Oathbreaker – Mælstrøm

Oathbreaker fans rejoice! If you’ve been following this band since its self-titled debut back in 2008, their newest release, Mælstrøm, is finally up for pre-order on Deathwish Inc. on white/brown vinyl, CD, and digital versions. You also get a pretty nifty poster with your order! You can also stream the whole album on the Deathwish Inc. website or here.

I just gave a round of listening to this album and it has already made it to my favorite albums of 2011. The band has certainly matured over the years since its debut. Expect aggression of a certain kind that I have not felt since CELESTE’s MORTE(S) NÉE(S). The titular track, “Mælstrøm”, is definitely a suprise ending to the album; give it a listen because I ain’t gonna spoil it. However, if you any guys have listened to the pre-Oathbreaker band, No Recess, you’ll know what I’m talking about.


About this entry